This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Callam Fox

Who’d like to see another ‘This Is What A Vegan Looks Like’ Interview? All of you? Good, then please get comfortable and let me begin. Today I feature the incredibly talented Callam Fox. I discovered his stunning food pics on Instagram after reading all about him on Pig Out Zine and I am so very glad I did. His food looks absolutely exquisite.

Callam Fox 1

Callam says: “I’m a freelance graphic designer from Doncaster, I also have a vegan food instagram page called @rootlyfe_food where I post my day-to-day plates of food, and write recipes for sheffield vegan lifestyle blog http://www.pigoutzine.com , as well as catering for @lovelution.retreats health retreats where myself and other collaborators host a weekend full of yoga, reiki, exercise and healthy food as well as being around like-minded people in the beautiful surroundings of Hebden bridge countryside. If you’re into your loud music I help run and cater for @h0tmustard live events in Sheffield, we currently hold them at @foodhall_sheffield once a month and we have some awesome loud live bands playing so check out those events!” Callam, please take it away:

1\ What made you go vegan?
The tipping point for me was when I realised that vegan food can taste just as good as anything with meat or dairy in it. It seemed like a challenge and a new project, perfect for the sort of person I am. I like to be as good as I can be at anything I try. A lot of my friends were also vegan, like, 2 – 3 years before me so I would regularly cook meals for them or with them, so my transition was quite easy as I already knew the basics and the go-to recipes along with a shed-load of accidentally vegan products.

Callam Fox 2

2\ If you could watch only 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?
What a question, aaahhhh! I’m going to have to say Tom & Jerry because there is loads of them and I don’t think I could ever get bored of the crazy antics those two get up to. Then Roseanne because I just love the family values and dynamic of that show. And Cosmos: a space time odyssey for the mind-blowing insight in to the universe and the scientist and innovators who worked towards solving the mysteries of the world.

Callam Fox 3

3\ What or where’s your favourite place in the entire world?
Never Never Land! Ha… nah … I have been lucky enough to see some amazing places in my life, but Cinque Terre in Italy was such a beautiful place, amazing coloured buildings great views but other than maybe Bed?!

4\ What are vegan options like where you live?
Not great, we don’t have any strictly vegan / vegetarian places to go but we do have a place that provides vegan burgers and another restaurant that are quite good catering for you if you ask but other than that not a right lot no, we do have a deli tho and also a Chinese supermarket so we have good access to any ingredients that can usually be quite difficult to get.

Callam Fox 5

5\ What is your idea of happiness?
Being truly content with yourself inside and out, understanding that we are all on the same journey of discovery and that we are all equal and as important as the next. Love the land, love one another, let yourself be loved and learn to forgive. Forgiveness is underrated.

6\ What 3 other vegans would you like to be stuck in a lift with and why?
Woody Harrelson, Albert Einstein and Steve O, I think we would have a good go at being unstuck with brains, brawn and downright stupidity.

Callam Fox 6

7\ Do you have a favourite motto?
“What do you want for tea?!” is something I say pretty much every day without fail to my lovely girlfriend who is lucky enough to have her food cooked by me every night, it keeps her on track tho.

Callam Fox 7

8\ What are your all-time favourite vegan foods?
It has got to be the super-quick super-tasty super-lazy caramelised onion cheddar and beans toastie, as much as I love cooking you just can’t beat the simple comfort foods.

Callam Fox 8

9\ What song do you most likely dance to at a party?
If the alcohol consumption is at peak level I will dance to anything within reason, I say anything but I have been known to walk off the dancefloor in a huff with the DJ. I hate it when they are doing so well and then just go and spoil it by putting on something shit, like Journey, ruining your high energy dance vibes.

Callam Fox 4

10\ Who in the world would you like to see go vegan?
David Attenborough I think, I have always really loved his shows from growing up an watching them with my grandad and I never really thought about his diet until I started to take more of an interest in mine and then to find out he isn’t even a vegetarian was a bit of a shock.

5 thoughts on “This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Callam Fox

    1. Thank you SO much! Callum’s food is stunning isn’t it! I think vegan food often looks amazing because it can be so colourful – all the fruit and veg makes it so bright (and delish!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

