This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Karina

Happy Monday gang! Today on TIWAVLL I’m sharing a Q&A with the bodacious Karina Knite. Karina grew up and lives in Oxford, she blogs at Avokarina and shares her instagram snaps at @avokarina. Pro-tip: she’s brilliant on twitter too!

She says “I work in international publishing which I love but I dream of one day owning a half bookshop/half vegan cafe-deli. I have an on-again/off-again love affair with exercise, I lost 6 stone a few years ago and have since completed two half marathons. While growing up I always had pets and for a few years we fostered cats so often had four or five kittens running around which was probably where my love of animals came from. Ducklings are my favourite thing in the world and I can’t walk past a snail on a path without moving him to safety.”

Who else is in the Save-A-Snail club? Who else frets that when you move a snail from the pavement you’ve just ruined the snail’s day as you’ve disrupted their journey and now they have to go twice as far?! If only we could talk to other creatures, amiright?!

Right Karina – let’s DO THIS THANG:

1\ What made you go vegan?

I’d never been a huge meat-eater, I ate meat on and off until I was twenty-two before going veggie. I’ve always considered myself a huge animal lover and about a year after cutting out meat I finally realised you can’t love animals and not be vegan. I was working in Yo! Sushi at the time so the unlimited supply of free vegetable gyoza and inari pockets definitely helped me stick at it.

2\ If you could watch only 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Nighty Night, Peep Show and of course, the US Office.

3\ What’s your favourite place in the entire world?

Planet Organic.

Karina Knight 1

4\ What are the vegan options like where you live?

They’re getting better! Most places offer a vegan option and there are a couple of coffee shops that often serve vegan cakes like Modern Baker and Barefoot Bakery. I lived in London for three years whilst at uni and I kick myself daily for not going vegan sooner so I could’ve taken full advantage of all the options.

5\ What is your idea of happiness?

Being in bed with my boo with fresh sheets whilst it’s raining, watching Fantastic Mr Fox, drinking a coffee with cashew milk and nibbling on some fancy AF dark chocolate. All while knowing I’ve got ripe avocados and a freezer full of Linda McCartney sausages downstairs.

Karina Knight 2

6\ What 3 other vegans would you like to be stuck in a lift with and why?

Natalie Portman, Woody Harrelson and Brad Pitt. No particular reason and I would have nothing to say but I think it would be great.

7\ Do you have a favourite motto?

“What matters most is how you walk through the fire”.

8\ What are your all-time favourite vegan foods?

This is the hardest question I’ve ever been asked, top three would probably be:

  • The vegan burger with tofu bacon and extra gherkins from The Gardener’s Arms
  • My homemade lentil ragu (it’s the BBC good food recipe but I add a lot of red wine)
  • The Pret Christmas special baguette which haunts my dreams

Karina Knight 3

9\ What song do you most likely dance to at a party?

Do You Love Me – The Contours.

10\ Who in the world would you like to see go vegan?

Ricky Gervais or anyone else who bangs on about animal cruelty but still eats them.

4 thoughts on “This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Karina

Leave a Reply

