This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Laila c/o TAPEPARADE

Happy Monday lads. What better way to kick off the week than with a brilliant Q&A from Tapeparade’s Laila? Laila lives in North London with 4 boys, a gecko and a giant snail. She works as a musician and writer. She says: “I like animals, science, museums, nights out, anime, travel, writing songs and mysteries, and I’m happiest on stage or in transit. I’m vegan and try hard to live an ethical, low-impact life.”

I am in no way kidding when I say that Laila’s writing has me swooning. As well as writing about veganism and a green lifestyle she writes longer(ish) posts on Tapeparade about life, love, relationships and so on and they are a joy – so wise and so honest.

As Chief Wiggum would say: “bake ’em away toys”! Laila – do your thang:

1\ What made you go vegan?

This is going to sound ridiculous. I was thinking how weird it was that cows produced milk constantly whereas every other mammal just produces milk for their young. I did some extremely basic research (literally Wikipedia) and then obviously discovered the ghastly truth that cows are like every other mammal. I was so shocked. It hadn’t even occurred to me that we would forcibly impregnate cows and kill their children to get that milk, that’s just so obviously fucked up. It just seems so bizarre for that to be standard industry practise on such a mass scale. I was horrified and shocked – and also just OUTRAGED, I felt so lied to – so I just went vegan on the spot.

2\ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Monkey Dust, Will & Grace and Bojack Horseman. Tough question! I’m thinking about shows that I can happily re-watch over and over.

3\ What’s your favorite place in the entire world?

Oh that’s really hard! Either Mauritius, New York, or Tokyo.

Laila 1

4\ What are the vegan options like where you live?

Incredible! We have London’s oldest vegan restaurant literally across the road from my house, two vegan grocery shops and a vegan pizza delivery about ten minutes away. Come for the cheap rent, stay for the vegan loot…

5\ What’s your idea of happiness?

Travelling, eating, or performing my own stuff…

6\ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

This is really hard! I’ve actually had to look up “people that are vegan” for some inspiration here because I just assume everyone either is vegan or is somewhere along the path to veganism now. Simon Amstell is definitely one, just to congratulate him on Carnage more than anything else. Then Ariana Grande because girl can SING. And Woody Harrelson just because he seems super chilled.

Laila 2

7\ Do you have a favorite motto, if so, what is it?

No, not really. I think they can be kind of a placebo! I do like the quote “Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything” from George Bernard Shaw. I also have one of those godawful framed print things on my wall that somebody gave to me years ago. It says “This Is My Year” in a cartoony font. I think it’s been there for about three years.

8\ What are your all-time fave vegan things to eat?

Oh man. So many! My Mum’s chocolate chip cookies are right up there. I love fried chick’n burgers, hummus, anything with peanut-butter, pad thai, pancakes with fruit. I basically love and eat the exact same foods now as when I wasn’t vegan. The only difference is now I’m a better cook! My all-time favourite vegan eateries are by Chloe and Champs in New York, Bar Loosister in Helsinki, and Loving Hut in London. I’m biased to that last one as it’s next door!

9\ What song do you most like to dance to at a party?

Any soul/funk/disco/motown number, literally anything with a horn section. Or anything I know all the words too. James Brown is probably my all-time favourite musician for danceable grooves. The main reason I don’t go out much these days is because there’s not enough brass in the tunes that get played!

Laila 3

10\ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?

Rupert Murdoch. CAN YOU IMAGINE.

One thought on “This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Laila c/o TAPEPARADE

Leave a Reply

