This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Lindsay c/o The Vegan Twist

Crack open the bubbly and Vego bars because it’s This Is What A Vegan Looks Like time again! *Channels Alan Partridge and orders a condensed Pink Floyd concert for £500*. This time around we are featuring the wonderful Lindsay from The Vegan Twist. Lindsay is an American girl from the very sunny state of Arizona, living in Leicester, England with her husband and two tuxedo kitties, Sweep and Fred. 

Lindsay&Andrew

Her blog The Vegan Twist is jam-packed with really beautiful recipes, super-helpful travel guides and I love that she’s repping for the vegan scene in the Midlands. You can also follow her vegan adventures on her Snapchat, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. It’s my pleasure to share her Q&A with you today, so Lindsay take it away:

1\ What made you go vegan?

I grew up as a vegetarian and as a teen/adult started to eat chicken and fish (and the odd piece of red meat). I went back to being veggie about 3 years ago when my husband made the switch. He works in the manufacturing industry and has seen where meat is processed, and it put him off completely one day. He went from being a “meat and two veg” guy to a vegetarian literally overnight.

 About a year later I decided to transition to being vegan. My mom and her partner (an ER doctor in the US) had both made the switch and they looked and felt amazing. That, coupled with watching a couple compelling documentaries, is what helped me make the switch permanent. Now I stay vegan for the animals.

jackfruit tacos

2\ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

The Simpsons, The Office (US) and The Colbert Report (if it was still going!) or some other political satire show.

 3\ What’s your favorite place in the entire world?

It has to be my hometown of Tucson, Arizona. We moved there when I was 14 so I spent some formative years there, including 4 years at the University of Arizona. I didn’t fully appreciate it until I left (isn’t that always the case), and now I just relish every moment I get to spend back in the desert. I love the light, the big sky, the air, the mountains, the cacti, the wildlife, the great music and bar scene… and of course all my friends and family back home!

Lindsay hiking in Tucson

4\ What are the vegan options like where you live?

Really good! Leicester is home of the original vegan, and we have a remarkable number of vegetarian-only restaurants thanks in part to all the amazing curry houses here. Since I’ve been here, I’ve seen loads of restaurants become increasingly more vegan-friendly and we really are spoiled for choice. I actually just did a blog post on my favorite restaurants in Leicester for those interested.

5\ What’s your idea of happiness?

Gosh, now that’s the question isn’t it? I feel really, truly happy when I’m in the moment, not thinking about the past or worrying about the future and experiencing a general feeling of connectedness to everything. I don’t mean to sound like a hippy!

That said – I love being back in Arizona – hanging out with friends and family drinking good tequila (or wine!) around a fire pit, watching the sunset and enjoying lively conversations. I also really love hiking in quiet, remote canyons where I can feel far away from life but connected to nature. My two cats also make me quite happy (but can irritate me as well!).

Lindsay&Andrew in Tucson

6\ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

Jon Stewart, Ellen and Evanna Lynch. Although, they’d probably all talk to each other while I stood there in awe, looking a bit dumb and only afterwards thinking of all the witty things I could have said!

7\ Do you have a favorite motto, if so, what is it?

Never miss an opportunity to pee.

Haha – I’m only kind of kidding. This was my sister’s “number one golden rule” from when we were kids and I actually do adhere to it.

Lindsay snowboarding

8\ What are your all-time fave vegan things to eat?

It’s gotta be Mexican food. Tucson is only an hour drive from the Mexican border, so the food is incredible as you can imagine. I love tacos in particular.

Now that I live in the curry capital of England, I do also love love love Indian food.

avocado tacos

9\ What song do you most like to dance to at a party?

There isn’t a particular song, but I love good alternative 80s music – it’s almost guaranteed to get me on the dance floor (not that I need much convincing!).

10\ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?

Oprah! She would have such a major impact if she went vegan. Did you know that when she announced she was no longer going to eat red meat, beef sales plunged dramatically for 2 weeks and a group of angry cattle ranchers in the US tried to sue her?! (They lost).

spring tarte 

Thank you so much Lindsay! And, as regular readers/friends of mine on social media will know I LOVE USA-roadtripping and I can assure you that I am in total agreement on Lindsay’s answer to Question 7. When stuck in the car for hours on end there is ~nothing~ quite like really needing to pee and not being able to find anywhere. Go when you can my friends!

One thought on “This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Lindsay c/o The Vegan Twist

Leave a Reply

