This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Soufia c/o Muslim Vegans

Today’s TIWAVLL features Soufia from Muslim Vegans who posts amazing food snaps and, it turns out, has awesome taste in music too.

1\ What made you go vegan?

Muslims throughout their history have always been mindful of what they eat. The choices we make in relation to the food we consume has a strong link to our beliefs. We are advised to eat simply and in moderation we are also advised to source our food as ethical as possible, so when I started learning about the abuse within the meat and dairy industry as well as the detrimental impact on our environment I slowly started cutting everything back, from being a vegetarian for a good 6 years, then cutting all eggs and dairy- and 1.5 years later I don’t think I want to go back.

2\ If you could watch only 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Lost, Mr Robot and Sherlock Holmes.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

3\ What or where’s your favourite place in the entire world?

Jericho in Palestine so far (vegan paradise with fresh mangos and figs).

4\ What are vegan options like where you live?

I live in Manchester, UK, so the vegan options are pretty great- more and more restaurants are catering for us as well as more vegan restaurants emerging. So it’s really good!

5\ What is your idea of happiness?

My idea of happiness is being spiritually content, serving people- ultimately living a life of wonder and intentionality.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

6\ What 3 other vegans would you like to be stuck in a lift with and why?

Esme from London Afro Vegan- I’m pretty sure she would add some humour to what will be a distressful time for those of us who are scared of lifts. Leo Tolstoy- I can learn a few things from him! Russel Brand- I think I need an energetic spirit around to drown out my anxiety.

7\ Do you have a favourite motto?

Change your heart to change the world, something along those lines.

8\ What are your all-time favourite vegan foods?

I love Buddha bowls. Rice noodles, always and I can also pretty much live on watermelon, mangos and figs.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

9\ What song do you most likely dance to at a party?

You won’t catch me dancing at any party- but if you were to ask me what song am I most likely to dance to at home, then it has to be Superstition by Stevie Wonder.

10\ Who in the world would you like to see go vegan?

Trump, if that man can be compassionate then I believe there is hope for the rest of humanity!

If you want to read more about Soufia, check out her “31 Vegans’ First 31 Days” Q&A on the brilliant Pig Out Zine which is a brilliant series of interviews with vegan across the world on how and why they went vegan.

Leave a Reply

