This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Oli Ratcliffe

Hello pickles, it feels like it’s an especially fun time to be a vegan right now (when does it not though, AMIRIGHT) what with more and more vegan options appearing on the high street – I’m looking at YOU amazing new dessert at Zizzi’s which everyone is raving about – and with Carnage (the world’s FIRST/ONLY Pro-vegan sci-fi commissioned by the BBC) on iPlayer right now.

So it’s brilliant continuing to talk to loads of great vegan people about their motivations, fave food and songs to bop to.

Today I’m featuring Oli Ratcliffe who tweets here, posts incredible Instagram pictures here and blogs about his vegan adventures here.

Oli says: “I’m 25, I grew up in Wiltshire but now live in the big bad city. Despite living with 2 cats I’m more of a dog person as my parents have 4 greyhounds. I love to travel (I’m off to Morocco at the end of the month!) I’m not a hot drink person at all and I want to live in LA!”

Oli 3

Oli’s food choices are MIGHTY FINE and he, like I, can resist neither Lotus Biscoff spread nor fancy-ass slightly-too-expensive things in Planet Organic. Well done sir. Over to you Oli:

1/ What made you go vegan?

Classically, I watched Cowspiracy and as someone who does consider themselves as an environmentalist I had to make that change!

Oli 9

2/ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Ahh this is a tough one, I think Archer as I can watch and re-watch that all the time, a 4 part show called Cooked by this food writer Michael Pollan and I’m really into this series called Black Sails at the moment which is kind of like Game of Thrones meets pirates!

Oli 4

3/ What’s your favourite place in the entire world?

Hmm, I’m gonna be sly and cheat with this answer as I think it all depends on my mood, Wiltshire in the summer is one of my favourite places to be, in any restaurant because at the heart of it I’m a greedy sod, but if it had to be one place it would be in the kitchen as I love to cook more than anything.

4/ What are the vegan options like where you live?

Well I live in London now so it’s great for me. I’m only 20 mins away from either The Black Cat or Temple of Hackney and about 25 mins from Yorica! Which is so so good.

Oli 2

5/ What is your idea of happiness?

Eating delicious food (and drinking good booze) with friends or loved ones, it simply doesn’t get any better than that for me.

Oli 5

6/ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

2 of the 3 would definitely be Dave and Steve, or the Happy Pear as they are known; they have such great energy, could talk for hours and normally have a snack or 2 hovering about. And I think someone like Cara, who does all the content for Chickpea Mag, (an ad free vegan quarterly) because she has such a great creative mind.

Oli 10

7/ Do you have a favourite motto, if so, what is it?

Less of a motto and more of a mantra for me is to just be the best you can be on a day by day basis, I suffer from depression and so for me it is a case of me trying my best every day, if one day or hour doesn’t go well, I try my hardest not to let it ruin my day or week.

Oli 7

8/ What are your all-time fave things to eat?

Now we are talking! I’ve found my palate has actually changed a lot since going vegan, I love all my junk food, but a day feels weird if I’ve not had broccoli! Since pancake day I’ve had a real love affair with those and I’m trying to convince myself its ok to buy a super pricey waffle iron to make fancy AF waffles.

Oli 6

9/ What song do you most like to dance to at a party?

I’ve been listening to a lot of grime recently but I love a good slow dance to some soul or blues, I think Son of a Preacher Man is my go to dance around my house tune.

10/ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?

I wouldn’t want anyone to go vegan who didn’t want to. I’d love to see people make more of an effort to cut meat and dairy out of their diet and, even though it’s not what I did, making small changes at a time really helps. That being said, I’d love to see my mum do it.

Oli 8

Finally a plea to you dear reader: I want to feature ever more diverse people on This Is What A Vegan Looks Like. Older people, younger people, people throughout the UK and the world, people living with a disability, LGBTQ+ people, people from every ethnicity, people living with different financial means, people who became vegan for a multitude of different reasons. If you want to take part or know someone who might want to please get in touch. Thanks kittens.

Leave a Reply

