A Few Of My Fave Vegan and Cruelty-Free Beauty Products

As well as changing how I eat, since becoming vegan I’ve become a lot more conscious of the products I use *Alan Partridge voice* beauty-wise.

I was shocked at how many of the cosmetics I owned and blithely used could have been tested (or contains ingredients tested) on animals. The notion of experimenting on mice, beagles, cats and other gorgeous little creatures so I can wear a new lip gloss is so profoundly immoral and inept I can barely comprehend it still goes on. Once the old products were all used up I decided to buy cruelty-free alternatives.

I’m still very new to compassionate cosmetics but these are my initial fave things. Some products are a bargain and so easy to get a hold of, others a bit more expensive and so are little treats to myself. Some are organic and made with sustainable materials, others not. Some are made by vegan/compassionate companies, others are not. All are cosmetics and toiletries I love using and, I hope, were made without harming animals.

I am in no way a make-up expert. I don’t wear foundation or lipsticks unless I’m at a wedding and basically as long as I have decent wings on my eyeliner and a solid lip-gloss I’m happy. In the comments PLEASE do tell me your recommendations – this is an exciting part of my vegan journey so any and all tips gratefully received!

Shower & Bath

Original source shower-gel – from £1 – High street shops

Original Source proudly carry the Vegan trademark on their bottles which means, at a glance, you can be assured that they do not test on animals nor do they have any testing conducted by 3rd parties on their behalf, so each Original Source product contains no animal ingredients whatsoever. Original Source make amazing zingy shower gels – hollaback to the Lemon and the Mint and TeaTree – daily scrubs and hand soap. They’re often on offer too so cheap and very cheerful.

original-source

Avalon Organics shampoo & conditioner – £5.99 each – Waitrose/Ocado and Health Food shops

Avalon Organics say they are “humbled by a profound respect for all living beings” (me too bruv) and, aside from their lipbalms which contain beeswax, all of their products are vegan and cruelty-free. Avalon Organics never tests products on animals, and will only source ingredients that the supplier can document are not tested on animals. Another reason I like to buy Avalon Organics – apart from the fact their shampoo and conditioners give me shiny, squeaky-clean hair – is that they have joined forces with CARE® as one of the founding partners of the Empower Her Through Education campaign, a 3-year partnership to help break down the barriers to education for girls in developing countries.

shampoo

Lush Let The Good Times Roll scrub – £7.25 – High Street

You’ve almost certainly seen – and smelt! – a Lush on a high street or in a train station near you. Great for their bath bombs and progressive approach to packaging they have a robust stance on animal testing too. I’m a big fan of the ‘Let The Good Times Roll’ scrub as it leaves my skin feeling soft and has a buttery popcorn fragrance. Made with just 10 ingredients including Maize flour, polenta and cinnamon powder it’s vegan and cruelty-free.

Dr. Bronner’s Castille Liquid Soap – £6.49 (little bottle, but it goes a long way) – Planet Organic

On the Castile Liquid Soap (my fave flavours are rose and also the citrus) the label proclaims there are “18-in-1” uses. I mostly stick with washing my face and body with them but you can also use it for washing your hands and hair, for bathing, shaving, brushing your teeth, rinsing fruit, aromatherapy, washing dishes by hand, doing laundry, mopping floors, all-purpose cleaning, washing windows, scrubbing toilets, washing dogs and so on!

All of Dr. Bronner’s products sold in the U.S. and Canada are Certified Vegan, except for our Organic Lip Balms and Organic Body Balms, which contain organic beeswax. All of their products carry the “Leaping Bunny” seal, which indicates that they are cruelty-free and that there is no animal testing done with them.

If you’ve ever used a Dr. Bronner’s soap you might have noticed a sort-of manifesto on the label about his All-One principle. Dr. Bronner’s essential vision and philosophy were born out of the tragic fate of his parents and extended family who were murdered in the Holocaust. He believed emphatically that we are all children of the same divine source, and that we must all realize we are “All-One!” or we will otherwise destroy ourselves. Dr. Bronner was also grounded in a powerful ecological consciousness, and their soaps are an extension of this simple, natural and 100% environmentally-friendly ideal.

soap

Perfume

JĀSÖN – £5ish – Planet Organic

JĀSÖN never test on animals and have a range of (pretty expensive) stick deodorants. Honestly, some days they work better than others in terms of perspiration but they never irritate my skin and keep my arm pits super soft.

perfume

Stella McCartney – around £60 for 50ml – Online

My favourite two perfumes by Stella McCartney ‘Stella’ and ‘Pop’ are both floral without being fussy.

Stella McCartney don’t use leather or fur in any of their products and the perfumes are completely vegan. It is worth noting that Procter & Gamble – who own their fragrance license – test other P&G fragrances on animals.

Moisturizers

Green People Vitamin Fix Cream – £16 – Planet Organic, London

Organic, vegan and Green People never test on animals, this is a rich, non-greasy day cream that smells and feels sumptuous. Every single time I put this on my face I am struck by how beautiful it smells and how good it feels on my skin.

creams

Nourish Golden Glow Illuminating Face Shimmer – £16 – Planet Organic, London

Organic, vegan and cruelty-free. An illuminating face shimmer which creates a pretty sun-kissed radiance. A little goes a long way.

Make up

Superdrug – great value – Highstreet

Superdrug is against animal testing and do not test any of their own brand products or their ingredients on animals, nor do they commission, via third parties, testing of our products on animals.

Superdrug is a member of the ‘Cruelty free International’ and all of their own brand products are certified cruelty free under the Cruelty Free International Leaping Bunny programme.

Superdrug’s have a massive range of own brand products so you’re bound to find something that works for you and they’re really great value and located on most high-streets. I use Superdrug’s sun lotions knowing they’re an affordable and cruelty-free way of staving off sunburn. But I’m only just beginning to try their various cosmetic goodies so a fuller post on Superdrug will have to follow.

Barry M – great value – Highstreet

Since their foundation in 1982, Barry M has never tested their finished products or ingredients on animals or engaged another company to do so on their behalf. All companies in their supply chain must provide Barry M with an annual written assurance that no product or ingredient used in their products has been newly animal tested by them after our fixed cut-off date.

Barry M also pledged not to permit their products to be sold in countries such as China whilst they require additional new animal testing. They have also pledged not to use new ingredients that become available in the future unless their safety can be assessed entirely without animal testing.

I love Barry M’s commitment to cruelty-free cosmetics almost as much as I love their dazzling nail polishes, stunningly packaged and very effective Feature Length Mascara and dramatic and easy-to-apply Eye Define Liquid Eyeliner. Which is a lot. Their eyeliner is so good that I’ve had strangers on the train asking who made it, due to it’s ability to stay firmly in place even on swelteringly hot summer days. So good.

make-up

Hurraw lip gloss – £4.49 each – Planet Organic, London

Pretty expensive for a lip gloss I cane so very quickly, but just so smooth and soft and so brilliantly lovely. I don’t have any Hurraw at the moment and this makes me sad. If I ever spot this on sale at Planet Organic and have spare readies I will stock the heck up.

_ _ _ _ _ _

So, here are just some of my day-to-day cosmetic and beauty products. I will share more as I find them, but if you have any absolute must-buys please do let me know! Thanks bab.

25 thoughts on “A Few Of My Fave Vegan and Cruelty-Free Beauty Products

  1. Yay love this! We have a lot of the same fave products! I buy Superdrug, lush or green people depending on how flush I’m feeling. It’s taken me ages to find a vegan deodorant I get along with, but now I’m basically married to piperwai (when I can get it from the us) and baxters of California, which I can get here. And my fave shampoo brand right now is inecto, which is so good and if you get lucky, sometimes found in pound shops!! 🙂

    Like

    1. I am getting there with some dependable products which I know I can rely on – but yeah a lot of it is budget-related! Green People is so great I want to try everything they’ve got…. when I have enough money. I will deffoes look out for Piperwai when I next get to the US and Baxters as Jason is a bit hit-and-miss. I will CERTAINLY look out for Inecto. Buying shampoo & conditioner from Avalon is lovely but that amounts to dropping, like, ten bar right there! Do you have a good blusher/thoothpaste recommendation? Thank YOU! x

      Like

    1. Thank you! It’s been really fun experimenting with new things and I’ll post again in a few months with a few more beauty treasures I can recommend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This list is SO GREAT, so many of these are our faves too 🙂

    Recently got the Corinne Taylor body butter as a gift and it is WELL GOOD, and the Washed Out soap and body butter will always be a staple.

    For hair, the nou nou conditioner from Davines is borderline life-changing and the Meraki shampoos seem to last for so long and lather really well even without SLS.

    I’m loving some of the Pixi products – skincare wise their nourishing cleansing balm is so amazing I stockpile it and buy it as gifts for everyone I know, and make-up wise the natural brow duo and the bronzer are both the best match for my colouring I’ve ever found.

    Aesop do some amazing skincare – the parsley seed mask is basically magic, and their minty SPF50 sun cream is worth the extra £.

    SO excited that there are so many options and new ones all the time (may have got carried away in this comment as a result)!

    Like

    1. ERMERGERD! Now THAT is a list of wonderful recommendations! I see Pixi products a lot on instagram so am looking forward to trying some – I do think I need a balm in my life. Aesop are certainly on my to-buy list and I don’t think I can read your description of the conditioner and NOT be intrigued. Thank you SO much for this amazing list of wondrous-sounding things. Looking forward to getting my paws on them! x

      Like

    1. Yes! I love Amie skincare – I have one of their face creams and the scrub (the bottles looked so battered I thought they’d be a bit ugly in photographs on my blog!) I shall mention them in an upcoming post as you’re right they’re really good!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Green People too. In terms of other bits that are good or brands to look at – all of Urban Decay’s make up is vegan and not tested on animals. It’s a bit pricey but everything I’ve bought has been great and lasted for ever (lipsticks are amazing and great range of shades). Pai skincare is Vegan Society approved and the rosehip oil is something I can’t live without – the bottle is tiny but it’s lasted me over a year!

    Like

  4. Hurraw lip balms are my absolute favourite, so lovely to wear! (And cheaper on Australia hehe) 🙂 love this post and your blog x

    Like

    1. Oh Maddi they are soooo good! Every flavor I smell/use I’m like “yep, you’re a keeper!” Cheaper in Australia?! Argh – lucky you! Thank you, that’s so lovely! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel that oh so much!!! Usually everything here is more expensive so it’s a nice change! You’re more than welcome X

        Like

    1. It’s been so fun trying out new cruelty-free cosmetics! I’ve used Barry M for a while – so good. Their nail polish & eyeshadows are SO colourful! Hope you can find some at some point! Thanks so much for dropping by AGAV! x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! It’s such good value and I love that you can shop with such confidence in there. Barry M nail varnishes and eye shadows are INCRED! Thanks for dropping by! x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. this is what we were looking for! thabks for sharing. Now we are testing Lush products and some highlighters mascaras and hair produts, definetly going to iclude one of your recomedations to our next post! thank you again so cool to find this kind of posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

