This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Tsouni c/o @Yes It’s All Vegan

Who’s ready for the first This Is What A Vegan Looks Like of 2017?! All of you? Good. Let’s begin.

Now, if you’re a) on instagram, b) into incredible, tasty food and c) interested in vegan places even a little bit then I’m going to assume you’re already following Yes, it’s all vegan. Because damn gurl. This instagram account is where it’s aaaaat. Tsouni cooks beautiful meals and shares so many tips on where to eat out I struggle to imagine how she finds time for anything else. But she does. Tsouni is a potter (mossceramics.com) and works part-time at ASOS where she’s currently running the Eco Edit.

tsouni-5

She’s frankly fantastic and I am so excited to share her Q&A with you today:

1/ What made you go vegan?

I was a vegetarian on and off through my teens and early twenties, then in 2007 read A Diet For A New America by John Robbins which details lots of things related to health and factory farming – many of which had never occurred to me before – and decided to go vegan for a month and see how it went. At the time I thought vegans were kind of extreme but here I am, 9 years later! I got through the first few months with a lot of help from the PPK and Vegan With A Vengeance.

tsouni-1

2/ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be? 

Six Feet Under: Clare Fisher is my spirit animal

Strangers With Candy (s/o to Amy Sedaris)

The Office (the US version, because Steve Carell).

3/ What’s your favorite place in the entire world?

Now the weather’s getting colder, my bed.

tsouni-2

4/ What are the vegan options like where you live?

Really great. I live in Stoke Newington where we have Rasa and Bodega 50, then other favourites like Black Cat, Cook Daily, Fed By Water or Pomodoro e Basilico just down the road. I can get great vegan groceries at Harvest, Whole Foods and Food For All. I get my vegetables from Growing Communities, a local organic and cooperative scheme. And I work in Camden where we have Club Mexicana, Mildred’s and Cookies And Scream! It feels like there’s news of a new vegan spot about every week in London at the moment, which is amazing! It was a different story when I went vegan a decade ago and was hanging out in Pogo Cafe.

tsouni-6

5/ What is your idea of happiness?

Outdoors adventures without any phone signal.

tsouni-3

6/ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

Gene Bauer, Moby and Isa Chandra.

7/ Do you have a favorite motto, if so, what is it?

I need TP for my bunghole.

tsouni-4

8/ What are your all-time fave vegan things to eat?

Amy’s mac n cheese, tacos from The Vegan Nom in Austin, the Monte Cristo sandwich at the Chicago Diner, Morning Star hickory riblets, So Delicious Turtle Trail ice cream, bread and butter pickles and pesto Vegenaise. Most of these things aren’t available in the UK, which is probably for my own good.

tsouni-7

9/ What song do you most like to dance to at a party?

I don’t know, but do I have the Spice Girls’ If You Can’t Dance stuck in my head now.

10/ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?

More people at the top and those whose decisions influence the general populace. MPs, CEOs and Beyoncé (and not just for 22 days).

4 thoughts on “This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Tsouni c/o @Yes It’s All Vegan

    1. Hey @itiswhatit I hope my blog gives you load of hints and tips. Why not take it slowly and add more vegan meals to what you eat every week… alternatively Veganuary and the Vegan Society can send you emails every day for a month with advice on where to eat out, shopping guides, recipes etc. I was surprised with how easy it’s been and it’s getting easier all the time. I’d also have to say that you shouldn’t ever worry about being 100% perfect all of the time – if you find yourself eating something and then seeing it has milk powder don’t fret! Let me know if I can help you with any questions!

      Like

    1. Really can’t knock the Spice Girls in their heyday. Only rubbish thing about them, now I think about it, is how seriously lame “Spice Girls” is as band name…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

