This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Ryan Marc Linton

It’s time for the last This Is What A Vegan Looks Like before Christmas! I’ve absolutely loved showcasing all these rad people and their reason for embracing a compassionate lifestyle over the last few months. I’m hoping that next year will see thousands more vegans in the UK and beyond and have been bloody delighted at just how many people have signed up to Veganuary so far this year. WOO HA!

Today on TIWAVLL we feature the lovely Ryan Marc Linton, who will introduce himself in his own words:

“I’m originally from Perth, Western Australia, although I was born in Doha, Qatar in the Middle East (we moved when i was about 4). But, long story short it means I also have a British passport, so I’m here now in London, and have been here since October last year. Previous to that I was travelling Europe for about 5 months. I came to London ‘cause I was starting to run out of money, needed a job and knew I could work and live here without too much hassle. But it’s quite randomly lead me up this path to truly finding out who I am and what I want to do, which I will accredit to having a lot of free time by myself in a completely new place, not knowing that many people. It really gives you room to grow.

So this past year I’ve done your classic bar and hospitality work and then more excitingly I’ve been doing film and tv extra work, modelling and working for Club Mexicana!

Then more importantly I went vegan, which has honestly been one of the best things I’ve done with my life (that and leaving home). I’ve found this amazing London vegan scene, a huge love for fitness, nutrition and health. As well as a deeper understanding and awareness of the world and what’s truly going on. I found a love for youtube through it.. keep your eyes peeled for a channel maybe coming soon It’s put me in touch with some lovely, like-minded people. My cooking-game as gone through the roof too, haha! With that all said, I feel like it’s only the beginning, I’m happier than ever and that’s exciting.”

ryan-linton-1

I am not sure if I could handle being so close to so much beautiful Club Mexicana food ALL DAY LONG. You must have an iron discipline Ryan! Whew! You can find Ryan on instagram here. But for now, take it away:

1\ What made you go Vegan ?

So the turning point was watching Cowspiracy. But I quite randomly went vegetarian at the start of this year cause I guess I thought there were some health benefits, I was starting to find meat a little repulsive and I was just generally curious to see what would happen (but still very oblivious to what was really going on). And then it just flung me into this world of Veganism, I was researching more and more and within a few months I was vegan

ryan-linton-7

2\ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be? 

Hmmmm can i say youtube as a whole as one? I’ve absolutely fallen in love with youtube. It’s been such an incredible platform for me and helped a lot with first going vegan. I used to be really into watching TV shows but I’ve seemed to of lost touch with it lately…

There’s some really great ones out there that I loved watching, GOT, True Detective, The Sopranos, Band of Brothers, Vikings to name a few. But if it had to be for the rest of my life.. Hmmm.. I’m gonna say along with youtube… The Simpsons and Saturday Night Live.

ryan-linton-2

3\What or where’s your favourite place in the entire world? 

Hmmm hard question! To be honest I think I’m still yet to find it. There’s still so much discovery out there for me. But I envision it to be a sort of place that’s kind of my home, where I’m surrounded by really great friends, family, its sunny, warm and near the beach. On a side note I traveled loads last year and some of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to are Mostar in Bosnia and Crete in Greece, in fact all the Greek islands are incredible. If you ever get the chance go see them!

4\ What are the vegan options like where you live? 

They’re amazing. I live in London and I feel like they’re getting better and better everyday. The vegan street food scene is incredible and I’m also fortunate enough to work in it at Club Mexicana. Win! Then there’s so many veggie/vegan restaurants as well as just all vegan places! Also the Free From sections at almost all supermarkets are getting better and better!

ryan-linton-4

5\ What is your idea of happiness? 

I think it’s a good level of comfort-ness, content-ness and happiness but still with a drive for many more exciting things to come (+ Q3.)

6\ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with? 

Leonardo DiCaprio, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Cara Delevingne.

ryan-linton-3

7\ Do you have a favourite motto, if so what is it? 

At the moment I have “You never want to fail because you didn’t work hard enough” in my phone as a reminder. Which is some Arnold Schwarzenegger wisdom at yah. And then I also wrote in my phone recently “Discipline yourself, so you can free yourself. And move forward” – Something I heard on a youtube video. So I’d say those two at the moment.

8\ What are your all-time favourite vegan things to eat? 

At home probably some variation of oats I then mix with a vegan protein powder, cacao, loads of berries, bananas, any fruits, all fruits and then a good source of fats like some peanut butter or cashew nuts. I love it. And it’s so healthy! Lately I’ve been a sucker for sweet things. Cliff bars are amazing. And then just some straight up vegan junk food, burgers, pizza, burritos. I want it all, thanks.

ryan-linton-6

9\ What song do you most like to dance to at a party? 

Got To Give It Up – Marvin Gaye. You should go put it on right now and dance.

P.S. Go listen to ‘Magic Soul Summer’ On digital radio. I guarantee it’ll brighten up your day!

ryan-linton-5

10\ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan? 

Donald Trump. Could you imagine if someone so ‘powerful’ (I don’t think he is as powerful as people may think, the power is with the people) could see what we all see as vegans and then the things that he could implement! But any world leaders or very public people, for that matter. And then very second to that: my family. Cause i want them all to be healthy and live for ever 

Leave a Reply

