This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Kate and Thom

As RuPaul says in every episode of Drag Race, hello, hello, helllloooo! And welcome to This Is What A Vegan Looks Like. I’m delighted to feature another wonderful couple on All Good, All Vegan today.

Thom and Kate met over a shared love of Twin Peaks and now reside in a village just outside Brighton. They both take the most beautiful photos and you can find Kate here and Thom here on instagram.

I know Kate through social media and am very lucky to be her pen-pal; is there anything better than finding some happy mail amongst the bills and bank statements in your post box? No. No there is not.

I absolutely loved reading both Kate and Thom’s answers to these Q&As and hope you will too! If I ever get to meet David Straitjacket that will surely be the best day of my life…

1\ What made you go vegan?

Kate:

I officially became vegetarian about a year ago (not quite sure what took me so long) and then I decided to cut out dairy 3 months ago. Since meeting Thomas 6 years ago, we have always had a vegan diet at home – but I would occasionally stray from this when we went out to restaurants. Everything has just finally fallen into place and I decided enough was enough – goodbye cheese on pizza – let’s do this properly. It helps that I love the challenge of veganising recipes. Bring on the plants!

Thom:

I went vegan back in 2005. I became interested in veganism when I was at school. We used to have debates in my French class and one week I was tasked with presenting a pro-meat argument. I figured it would be pretty easy but, in reality and much to my dismay at the time, I struggled to find any convincing argument for killing animals for food in a wealthy, technologically-advanced society like the UK. I’d always known the meat industry was cruel—how could it not be—but what particularly struck me was just how inefficient it was. At the time, a factoid I came across piqued my curiosity: it was said to take 7kg of grain to yield 1kg of beef. To me, this seemed completely unacceptable. However, I’d always assumed that meat was somehow central to human health and so all the blood, gore and wastefulness of it all was just something we had to accept. It turned out we could live perfectly healthy lives without animal products, so I decided to give it all up.

Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with k2 preset

2\ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Kate: Spaced Buffy Frasier

Thom:

The Prisoner

Twin Peaks

Bored To Death

3\ What’s your favourite place in the entire world?

Kate:

Sitting on the rocks by the sea at my local beach.

Thom:

Inside a Photoautomat in Berlin with 2 Euros in my pocket.

4\ What are the vegan options like where you live?

Pretty amazing. Our favourite veggie restaurants are Terre à Terre and Food for Friends and there is an amazing Japanese restaurant called Murasaki where we have the best aubergine miso yaki, korokke pumpkins and pickles. The desserts at Rootcandi are out of this world (we’re looking at you millet crème brûlée).

kate-henderson-35\ What is your idea of happiness?

Kate:

A blanket to crochet, a new tv series to get started on and an unlimited supply of dark chocolate rice cakes next to me on the sofa.

Thom:

Wild swimming, night trains and spinning French 45’s on my Teppaz.

6\ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

Kate:

Thomas, Hannah (my fantastic pen pal) and Michelle Pfeiffer (so we chat about Grease 2 – my guilty pleasure).

Thom:

Kate, Angela Davis circa 1969 and some guy called David Straitjacket. Wikipedia says he’s a vegan escape artist so he’d probably be a useful person to get stuck in a confined space with (unless that space is made of meat).

7\ Do you have a favourite motto, if so, what is it?

Kate:

That which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

Thom:

It’s not my favourite motto but I do say it to myself a lot: done is better than perfect.

Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with k3 preset

8\ What are your all-time fave vegan things to eat?

Kate:

Tofu-weiners hot dogs, Quorn hot & spicy burgers, medjool dates filled with pecan butter, booja booja truffles and the mind blowing vegan afternoon tea at Terre à Terre. I love trying out new recipes – right now I’m having quite a bit of success with ones by Minimalist Baker. Our current favourite is crispy almond butter tofu and sesame stir-fried aubergine. We had it twice in one week and could quite happily eat it every single day – we just don’t want to ever tire of it.

Thom:

Kate’s raw vegan Snickers, artichokes and expensive dark chocolate from exotic-sounding places.

9\ What song do you most like to dance to at a party?

Kate:

“I’d Rather Dance With You” by Kings of Convenience

Thom:

Sylvie Vartan’s cover of “I’m Coming Home” by Mel Torme, “Ne T’En Vas Pas”.

10\ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?

Kate:

My brother.

Thom:

In Spain, there are these folks called Ham Masters who have basically dedicated their entire lives to ham. There are even these Ham Master competitions which are basically the X Factor of the ham world. The format is basically this: a bunch of men slice ham all day and a panel of judges picks a winner. Once the Ham Masters go vegan, our work is done.

Leave a Reply

