This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: James Aspey

The star of today’s This Is What A Vegan Looks Like, James Aspey, is a 29 year old from Sydney, Australia. In his own words he wants “this world to be a more peaceful and chill place for us ALL to live” and he’s spending his time trying to help make that dream a reality.

james-aspey-1James believes the only way to live in alignment with his values of respecting others was to become vegan. He says: “my first major form of activism was a 1 year long vow of silence which I used to raise awareness for animals and promote peace over violence. I travelled around Australia and cycled 5000km from Darwin to Sydney to show vegans can be fit and strong. I broke my vow of silence on Australia’s most popular morning TV show. The interview went viral and was seen millions of times by people all around the world. I appeared in the news in numerous different countries and since then have given over 100 free talks on my journey and the many things I have learned.”

If you’re keen to find out more about James and his activism check out:

★ YouTube: http://youtube.com/voiceless365

★ Facebook: http://facebook.com/jamesaspeyactivism

★ Instagram: http://instagram.com/jamesaspey

I am delighted he’s taken part in This Is What A Vegan Looks Like and will let him take it away:

1/ What made you go vegan?

When I learned we could live perfectly healthy without eating animals I could no longer justify paying people to mutilate, torture and kill animals just because I liked the taste of them. When I learned there’s as much cruelty in dairy, eggs, leather and all animal products as there is in meat, I went from vegetarian to vegan. I just imagined what it would be like for them lined up at the slaughterhouse and thought, “I definitely wouldn’t want that done to me, so why should I do it to anyone else?”

james-aspey-2

2/ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Whose Line Is It Anyway. Planet Earth. Fresh Prince of Belair.

3/ What’s your favorite place in the entire world?

Bali!

4/ What are the vegan options like where you live?

There is a vegan option for EVERYTHING! Ice creams, cheese, chocolates, meats… Everything. And they’re delicious!
james-aspey-3

5/ What is your idea of happiness?

I’m happy when I feel like I am using my time wisely, making the most out of my time on this Earth and making a positive difference.

6/ Which other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?

Rza.
james-aspey-4

7/ Do you have a favorite motto, if so, what is it?

No one can do everything, but everyone can do something!

8/ What are your all-time fave vegan things to eat?

Banana ice cream. Avo and tomato on toast with salt and pepper. Green smoothies. Avo+tofu brown rice sushi. Roast potatoes!
james-aspey-5

9/ What do you most like to dance to at a party?

Hip hop.

10/ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?

Whoever the most influential person in the world is… the US President would be good!

james-aspey-6

Leave a Reply

