What can I eat for Breakfast?

The title of this blog is not a plaintive cry for help, oh no, rather it’s the start of a new ‘How To Go Vegan’ mini-series for people who are thinking of trying veganism and would like some ideas about what they can eat at breakfast, lunch and dinnertime.

Whether or not you believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, there’s no denying it can certainly be one of the tastiest.  Whether it’s a quick bite standing up in your kitchen before running to catch your train or a languid, riot of calories and pyjamas there is a vegan breakfast out there for you. I promise. A lot of these options might seem a bit “durrr obviously” but I’m not being basic, it’s just that I lost count of the number of times, upon turning vegan, that people asked me “well what CAN you eat now??!?” So in that vein, here are some of my favourite veggie breakfasts:

breakfast-1Toast. Obvs.

Slather with your fave non-dairy spread, marmite, peanut butter, jam, mashed avocado, vegan-cheese, beans, tofu scramble or sautéed mushrooms with dairy-free cream and fresh herbs.

There are also toppings out there for you. Asda’s Dark Chocolate & Mint Flavour Spread is vegan! Lotus Biscoff Caramelised Biscuit Spread is vegan! Toast for dayyyyyys.

Cereal

Your favourite cereals are (hopefully vegan) and ace topped with dairy-free yoghurts or milk. Dairy-Free milks include: soya, almond, rice, oat, hemp, cashew and coconut. I love them all. Vegan-friendly cereals include: Shreddies, Jordan’s Country Crisp, Kelloggs Fruit ‘n’ Fibre, Just Right, Rice Krispies and many many more.

Textbook example: I ruddy love Weetabix with oat milk, bananas and blueberries.

breakfast-2Porridge

Cook the way you always would but use a dairy-free milk instead.

Textbook examples: I think porridge/oatmeal is especially good when made with almond or oatmilk and topped with peanut butter. You can also opt for jams, fruits, nuts and spice, syrups, or perhaps just a pinch of sugar or salt.

Vegan pancakes or waffles

Make them with an egg replacer such as mashed bananas and dairy-free milk.

Textbook example: top with fruit and maple syrup or “choc-shot”. Maybe with dairy-free ice-cream if you’re feeling flash.

breakfast-3Toasted Carbs

Which fool doesn’t love a toasted carb-based breakfast snack?

Textbook examples: Banana Soreen is vegan! Warburton’s Giant crumpets are vegan! New York Bagel Bakery Co. Cinnamon & Raisin Bagels are vegan!

Sweet Treats

Strong coffee and something sweet delivered to me whilst I’m flat-out hungover on my sofa in my house-leggings are what dreams are made off.

Textbook examples: Flapjacks, muffins, doughnuts. You can make all of these vegan and increasingly buy vegan versions of your fave breakfast goodies on the highstreet. Co-Op’s jam doughnuts are “accidentally vegan” and great value. Jus Rol Bake It Fresh Cinnamon Swirls are also vegan and perfect for very lazy days.

breakfast-6A Fry-up

Fry-ups are always and forever for everyone.

Textbook example: My all-time fave fry-up involves Linda McCartney sausages or sausage rolls, baked beans, sautéed mushrooms, hashbrowns, toast and a bit of avocado and some hot sauce. UGH. So good. You might want to include scrambled tofu, “facon” or fried bread in your fry-up. I won’t judge.

Smoothies

I love being a gannet as much (ok more!) than the next person but getting well on the road to eating my 5-a-day at breakfast makes me feel extraordinarily smug and happy.

Textbook examples: My favourite smoothie is a blend of chopped banana, almond milk, peanut butter and a pinch of cocoa. I also love mixing up banana, raspberries, blueberries and almond milk or vanilla soya milk. Banana, peanut butter, spinach, flaxseed, and almond milk works really well too. Pro-tip: it’s often cheaper to use frozen fruit and you can freeze bananas that are over-ripe and then add them to smoothies, which is tasty AND cuts down on food-waste.

breakfast-5Fruit-Salad

Well, you’ve got this one covered I’m sure.

Textbook example:  I am a sucker for fresh pineapple and mango. Maybe with a squeeze of lime juice. YES MATE.

breakfast-4

For me, being vegan is about being kind to animals, people and the planet but it’s also about being kind to yourself. So, if circumstances allow it, a treat breakfast now and again is a really fantastic way to start your day. Or end it, as we all know that breakfast-for-dinner (aka Brinner) is a beautiful, wonderful thing.

5 thoughts on “What can I eat for Breakfast?

  1. The bear toasts are so cute! For me breakfast is the easiest meal to vegan-ise as there are so many options, even when I used to eat meat my breakfasts were always vegan. Most weekdays now I just have a soy cappuccino which is really bad but saw the other day that Pret have some vegan bircher and yogurt pots which looked good but rather tiny for the cost!

    Like

    1. Aww thanks! They’d be good for little kids too right?! I think breakfast is super easy too – really simple, tasty filling nice eats – and you can keep it simple or go a bit more extravagant! I find lunch the trickiest actually so that’s my next blog in this series! Thanks for your comment lovely! I’ll keep my eyes peeled for the Bircher museli in Pret!

      Like

Leave a Reply

