This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Samantha Eynon

The fourth fantastic person to feature in my tremendously exciting This Is What A Vegan Looks Like series is Samantha Eynon. Sam is a freelance illustrator and designer based in the Midlands; in the UK. She’s a lover of vintage, cute and colourful things, and can often be found rummaging around charity shops for anything with a bright, bold pattern. Her biggest inspirations are her husband, their pug dog Winston, and their classic VW camper van, Rhubarb. One of her absolute favourite things is going off on an adventure in Rhubarb with her little family.

You can find Sam on Instagram here and her beautiful work here.

samanthaenyon2I’ve been a yuge fan of Sam, her adventures, her artwork and WINSTON for years now and it’s been a pleasure seeing her embark on a vegan journey!

1/ What made you go vegan?
For years I had thought about being a Vegetarian, but instead I deliberately shut myself off to the cruelty of the meat trade. I’d often felt like a hypocrite for saying I was an animal lover, and watching videos of cute pigs to then turn round and eat a bacon sandwich. I just tried to disconnect the two.

I kept saying to myself ‘I couldn’t kill an animal myself, so why should I eat one?’ A few months ago, me and my husband finally made the decision to go veggie, after deciding to ignore things no more, and he was very much swayed by the damaging effect that animal farming has on the environment and it’s in-sustainability.

I immediately decided to restrict my intake of diary and eggs, as I was already thinking I would make the move to be vegan after reading about the horrific truths of these industries, but felt that the move would be too big in one go. However, every time I had a piece of cheese or a piece of milk chocolate, it just felt wrong, I was still deceiving myself, and I just didn’t feel comfortable doing it anymore.

It is still all very new to me, having only made the decision a few weeks ago, but I feel more at peace with myself after making the decision.


2/ If you could only watch 3 TV programmes for the rest of your life, what would they be?
Friends, Firefly (though I could have done with a few more series!)  and Fringe. I didn’t deliberately pick all F’s!

3/ What’s your favourite place in the entire world?
This seems to change every time I visit a new place to be honest! I get all swept up in the excitement of exploring a place for the first time, so currently that would be Copenhagen. Though me and my husband have a soft spot for North Devon, and always feel very happy and chilled out there.

samanthaenyon44/ What are the vegan options like where you live?
I’m still discovering that at the moment. In my immediate town, it seems pretty dire, but I am near so many cities (Derby, Nottingham, Birmingham…) and they all seem to have a few places that cater for vegans. I’m looking forward to finding them all!

5/ What is your idea of happiness?
I am at my happiest with my husband and pooch by my side, on an adventure in our camper van.

samanthaenyon56/ Which three other vegans would you most like to be stuck in a lift with?
My husband- may seem like a boring answer, but at least I’d be comfortable and he’d stop me freaking out! My friend Toni, she’s such a wonderful human, and talking to her also helped give me the kick up the bum to become vegan. I’m not really a big one for celebrity meeting, as I just find the whole thing really awkward, but if I had to pick one I’d go for Ellen Page, as she’s just awesome!

7/ Do you have a favourite motto, if so what is it?
I wouldn’t say there’s one that I live by but I quite like ‘Don’t wait for your boat to come in, swim out to it’.

samanthaenyon68/ What are your all-time favourite vegan things to eat?
Lotus biscuit spread! Heaven on a spoon- which is normally how I eat it!

My husband’s signature dish- a vegan ramen with tofu, that was one of the first recipe’s we tried, and man is it tasty!

Sweet potato fries.

9/ What song do you most like to dance to at a party?
If Fat Man Scoop- Be Faithful, comes on, you can’t keep me off that dance floor! Haha.

samanthaenyon710/ Who in the world would you most like to see go vegan?
Well that’s a tough one, as obviously- everyone! But if I were to pick someone famous I’d pick someone like Tom Hanks. He’s such an awesome guy, I love him as an actor, and I think pretty much everyone considers him to be a ‘nice’ guy of Hollywood, so I think he wouldn’t be ridiculed for it, and he’d be a great advocate.

If you’d like to take part in this series please let me know. I’m on Instagram and Twitter – @stop_hannahtime for both – and I am so keen to feature as many diverse vegans as possible from around the UK and the world!

3 thoughts on “This Is What A Vegan Looks Like: Samantha Eynon

  1. Ok, why am I the last one knowing things?! Where was this Lotus Biscoff spread in the last 2 months?! haha
    Love the post and I’m so going to shop right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

